USGS: Science for a Changing 


Drawing of volcano
Map of lava flow hazard 
zones of Mauna Kea and Kohala
Hazard zones for lava flows on Mauna Kea and Kohala.
The northern part of the Big Island is made up of two volcanoes, Mauna Kea and Kohala. Mauna Kea has erupted several times in the last 10,000 years, most recently about 4,500 years ago. This volcano is considered dormant but not extinct.

The summit and upper slopes of Mauna Kea comprise Zone 7 on the lava flow hazard map. Lava covered about 20 percent of this zone in the last 10,000 years.

Zone 8 includes the lower slopes of Mauna Kea. Most of this area has not been affected by lava flows for the past 10,000 years. The part of Hilo that lies north of the Wailuku river is within this zone.

Zone 9 consists of Kohala, the oldest volcano on the island, which last erupted about 60,000 years ago. Although it is impossible to know if this volcano is extinct or only dormant, the volcanic hazard there is extremely low.

Return to Lava Flow Hazard Zone Maps

This page is URL: <>
Last updated July 18, 1997
Maintained by John Watson