Link to USGS home page.

U.S. Department of the Interior
U.S. Geological Survey


Prepared in cooperation with the State of Michigan, Department of Environmental Quality

Summary of Hydrogeologic Conditions by County for the State of Michigan

U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 2007-1236

By Beth A. Apple and Howard W. Reeves

The full report is available in Adobe Acrobat® Portable Document Format (PDF). You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader®, version 7 or higher, to view or print the PDF documents. If you don't already have this free viewing software or need to upgrade your version, download Adobe Acrobat Reader®. Users with visual disabilities can visit for conversion tools and information to help make PDF files accessible. The PDF files are large, and may take a long time to download. If you have trouble downloading the files, you may request a copy of the report from Ordering Information for Products Available for Sale from the USGS.


Summaries of the major hydrogeologic features for each county in Michigan are presented. Each summary includes a listing of the major watersheds in the county and a description of the hydrogeology of the major aquifers in the county. Aquifer properties reported in the literature are given if available. Reports describing the hydrogeology of each county are cited. This work was prepared to provide a brief introduction to the ground-water setting for each county.


Apple, Beth A. and Howard W. Reeves—Summary of Hydrogeologic Conditions by County for the State of Michigan—U.S. Geological Survey Open-File Report 2007-1236, 87 pp. Date Posted: September 21, 2007:




Purpose and Scope

Study Area

County Summaries

Alcona County

Alger County

Allegan County

Alpena County

Antrim County

Arenac County

Baraga County

Barry County

Bay County

Benzie County

Berrien County

Branch County

Calhoun County

Cass County

Charlevoix County

Cheboygan County

Chippewa County

Clare County

Clinton County

Crawford County

Delta County

Dickinson County

Eaton County

Emmet County

Genesee County

Gladwin County

Gogebic County

Grand Traverse County

Gratiot County

Hillsdale County

Houghton County

Huron County

Ingham County

Ionia County

Iosco County

Iron County

Isabella County

Jackson County

Kalamazoo County

Kalkaska County

Kent County

Keweenaw County

Lake County

Lapeer County

Leelanau County

Lenawee County

Livingston County

Luce County

Mackinac County

Macomb County

Manistee County

Marquette County

Mason County

Mecosta County

Menominee County

Midland County

Missaukee County

Monroe County

Montcalm County

Montmorency County

Muskegon County

Newaygo County

Oakland County

Oceana County

Ogemaw County

Ontonagon County

Osceola County

Oscoda County

Otsego County

Ottawa County

Presque Isle County

Roscommon County

Saginaw County

Sanilac County

Schoolcraft County

Shiawassee County

St. Clair County

St. Joseph County

Tuscola County

Van Buren County

Washtenaw County

Wayne County

Wexford County

References Cited


1. Location of counties in Michigan

For additional information, contact:

U.S. Geological Survey
Michigan Water Science Center
6520 Mercantile Way, Suite 5
Lansing, MI 48911-5991
or visit our Web site at:


U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey
Persistent URL:
Page Contact Information: USGS Publishing Network
Last modified: Wednesday, 07-Dec-2016 20:23:16 EST
FirstGov button  Take Pride in America button