Information and Technology Report 1999-0001



Avian salmonellosis is caused by a group of bacteria of the genus salmonella. Approximately 2,300 different strains of salmonellae have been identified, and these are placed into groupings called “serovars” on the basis of their antigens or substances that induce immune response by the host, such as the production of specific antibody to the antigen. Current taxonomic nomenclature considers the 2,300 different serovars to be variants of two species, Salmonella enterica and S. bongori. S. enterica is further subdivided into six subspecies on the basis of biochemical characteristics. This results in complex nomenclature for each serovar, such as, S. enterica subsp. enterica serovar typhimurium. Readers should be aware of this convention for naming salmonellae because they will find this nomenclature in the current scientific literature. In this chapter, different serovars of salmonellae will be referred to by their previous, less complex nomenclature, such as S. typhimurium.

Publication type Report
Publication Subtype Federal Government Series
Title Salmonellosis
Series title Information and Technology Report
Series number 1999-0001
Year Published 1999
Language English
Publisher U.S. Geological Survey
Publisher location Reston, VA
Contributing office(s) National Wildlife Health Center
Description 11 p.
Larger Work Type Report
Larger Work Subtype USGS Numbered Series
Larger Work Title Field manual of wildlife diseases: General field procedures and diseases of birds
First page 99
Last page 109
Google Analytic Metrics Metrics page
Additional publication details