The music of earthquakes and Earthquake Quartet #1



  • The Publications Warehouse does not have links to digital versions of this publication at this time
  • Download citation as: RIS | Dublin Core


Earthquake Quartet #1, my composition for voice, trombone, cello, and seismograms, is the intersection of listening to earthquakes as a seismologist and performing music as a trombonist. Along the way, I realized there is a close relationship between what I do as a scientist and what I do as a musician. A musician controls the source of the sound and the path it travels through their instrument in order to make sound waves that we hear as music. An earthquake is the source of waves that travel along a path through the earth until reaching us as shaking. It is almost as if the earth is a musician and people, including seismologists, are metaphorically listening and trying to understand what the music means.
Publication type Book chapter
Publication Subtype Book Chapter
Title The music of earthquakes and Earthquake Quartet #1
Year Published 2013
Language English; Polish
Publisher Łaźnia Centre for Contemporary Art
Publisher location Gdańsk,Poland
Contributing office(s) Earthquake Science Center
Description 26 p.
Larger Work Type Book
Larger Work Subtype Other Government Series
Larger Work Title Konrad Smolenski�s S.T.R.H.
First page 52
Last page 77
Google Analytic Metrics Metrics page
Additional publication details