Alaska seismic studies

Earthquake Information Bulletin (USGS)


  • The Publications Warehouse does not have links to digital versions of this publication at this time
  • Download citation as: RIS | Dublin Core


Seismic monitoring in Alaska by the U.S Geological Survey consists of a network of 46 stations focused on the following four areas:

  • Yakatut Bay to Prince William Sound, centered on the Yakatage seismic gap.
  • Anchorage, and the surrounding region of rapid growth and development. 
  • The active Cook Inlet volcanoes-Iliamna,Redoubt and Spurr. (Two of three stations near Mount Spurr are funded by the State of Alaska as part of their geothermal program.)
  • The region of the proposed Bradely Lake hydroelectric project on the Kenai Peninsula. (The area is monitored by five stations with funds from the Army Corps of Engineers.) 

Study Area

Publication type Article
Publication Subtype Journal Article
Title Alaska seismic studies
Series title Earthquake Information Bulletin (USGS)
Volume 16
Issue 1
Year Published 1984
Language English
Publisher U.S Geological Survey
Publisher location Reston, VA
Description 6 p.
First page 28
Last page 33
Country United States
State Alaska
Online Only (Y/N) N
Additional Online Files (Y/N) N
Google Analytic Metrics Metrics page
Additional publication details