Revised taxonomy of rhabdoviruses infecting fish and marine mammals

By: , and 



Rhabdoviridae is a large family of negative-sense (-) RNA viruses that includes important pathogens of ray-finned fish and marine mammals. As for all viruses, the taxonomic assignment of rhabdoviruses occurs through a process implemented by the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses (ICTV). A recent revision of taxonomy conducted in conjunction with the ICTV Rhabdoviridae Study Group has resulted in the establishment of three new subfamilies (Alpharhabdovirinae, Betarhabdovirinae, and Gammarhabdovirinae) within the Rhabdoviridae, as well as three new genera (Cetarhavirus, Siniperhavirus, and Scophrhavirus) and seven new species for viruses infecting fish or marine mammals. All rhabdovirus species have also now been named or renamed to comply with the binomial format adopted by the ICTV in 2021, comprising the genus name followed by a species epithet. Phylogenetic analyses of L protein (RNA-dependent RNA polymerase) sequences of (-) RNA viruses indicate that members of the genus Novirhabdovirus (subfamily Gammarhabdovirinae) do not cluster within the Rhabdoviridae, suggesting the need for a review of their current classification.

Publication type Article
Publication Subtype Journal Article
Title Revised taxonomy of rhabdoviruses infecting fish and marine mammals
Series title Animals
DOI 10.3390/ani12111363
Volume 12
Issue 11
Year Published 2022
Language English
Publisher MDPI
Contributing office(s) Western Fisheries Research Center
Description 1363, 16 p.
Google Analytic Metrics Metrics page
Additional publication details